One year in Suburbia

IMG_1228

we’ve officially been suburbanites for a year now – the beginning of may marks one year in this place we call home.

up until last year both of us had been living in the downtown part of Ottawa. there have been some big adjustments to get used to, like the distance for me to school on city transit (it takes about an hour and a half if it’s rush hour) or the fact that we can’t just walk to dinner or a movie, so inevitably there’s been a lot more driving. i can’t say there aren’t days i don’t crave these elements of living downtown.

but, in reality, i’d say suburbia gets a bad rap. last summer i was able to have a crazy garden, and we would have never been able to get a dog if we didn’t have the outdoor space.

plus there’s the part of life where at the end of the day, we can just look around us and say – “this is our house” something we would never be able to do if we were still inside the downtown core.

so what’s with the stigma of the suburbs? one year in and i still haven’t really figured it out – all i can say is, we’ve been happy, and we’re two of the biggest drifters/dreamers that i know. suburban life hasn’t changed my thirst for adventure 🙂

IMG_1185

IMG_1230

IMG_1246

7 thoughts on “One year in Suburbia

  1. There’s a ton of city vs. suburbs stigma in Chicago. I don’t see myself moving out of the city anytime in the near future (esp since my boyfriend and I aren’t planning on having children), but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t some great sububrs near the city that have culture and a life of their own. For example: Evanston. AMAZING. Glad to see that you’ve settled in well and are enjoying your new location!! Looks beautiful!

    • I’ve never been to the windy city but It’s definitely on my bucket list. I wonder if I should include Evanston? I’ve heard Chicago in general is an amazing place to visit – and relatively not that far from here!
      I think one day you’ll see us in either the middle of nowhere, or backdown town Maybe that’s where the stigma comes from – Suburbs try to be everything in between.

      Thanks for commenting – I’m glad I found your blog!

  2. Ann Arbor is only so urban but since it is a smaller city it is laid out in the most ridiculous way and doesn’t have the practical space to accommodate all that it is trying to be. As a result we are SO looking forward to moving out of downtown. And the part you mention about adequate space for dogs is EXACTLY what i’m the most stoked about!! So glad you came and commented over at my blog! I love yours and can’t wait to keep up on what you guys are doing! 🙂

    • Thanks becky!! Do you guys have a dog already? If not start bracing your cat for it – ours fight like… cats and dogs. Also – I tried to subscribe to your blog but it wouldn’t let me? I don’t have the RSS option or blog lovin’ – so I added you to Instagram 🙂

      • We don’t have a dog yet, but we’re hoping for the best. Bert gets along with other cats and on the two occasions he’s met a puppy he was much more distantly skeptical/concerned versus aggressive. We’re planning on getting a golden retriever puppy in about a year or two so hopefully conflict will be minimal! Fingers crossed!

      • You will love love a golden retriever! Ours is a lab retriever and he has been so easy to train.. (haha with a few exceptions!)
        PS> Bert is the cutest name 🙂

  3. Pingback: Trail Run | Sparrow in the Tree Top

Will bake for comments!

