I Kinda Like the Cold Snap

Please don’t hit me or internet poke me but it’s true; I do kinda like the cold snap.

Today in Ottawa it’s minus 27 degrees Celsius.

I just love the dead of winter. Last year it was way too warm here – we hardly had a winter and it freaked me out. It would be different if I lived somewhere sunny and warm – where we weren’t supposed to get cold weather. Here it’s different. A good cold winter day is part of my identity. I am Canadian after all. I want to have to work for my summers.

Snowpuppy

At night, the Winter is quiet. When you step outside at night, you get a stillness in the winter that’s unlike any other season. Crickets or cars, the sound of people at a night time party, or barking dogs all shatter the quiet of a spring, summer or fall night.

In the winter, weather you live in a busy city or on a country road, you get to experience the quiet. The colder it is, the more quiet and serene the night becomes.

Catch my [snow] drift?

Also in the winter you can hibernate without cause for an excuse.

If it’s a cold night, you have carte blanche to stay inside, watching movies under a beautiful patchwork blanket that your sister made you for christmas.

2 thoughts on “I Kinda Like the Cold Snap

  1. Pingback: Friday Faves: What do you love about winter? | My Diary EntryMy Diary Entry

Will bake for comments!

