I’m a Canadian Caught Up in the US Election

I’m not an American, so why do I care more about the US election then I do Canadian politics?

As a Canadian I clearly have a stake the in outcome of the US election next month. I mean, hypothetically if Romney got elected, there could be some major changes to trade, travel and and other niceties that we share with the US.  So ya, of course it’s important as a Canadian to know what’s going on in the Obama v. Romney race – not that my concern for Romney’s plans (say for the Canadian pipeline) post election would have any bearing on the results in the States. Because let’s remember: I don’t have a vote.

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and make a bit of an embarrassing confession and I don’t think I’m alone either in saying this: I find US Politics more engaging then Canadian politics. (And that’s saying a lot considering I used to be a public servant.)

So this leads me to the question. Why am I so invested? Why am I a better US civic citizen, then I am Canadian?

I tweeted with millions of Americans as Romney slammed big bird.

If there had been a reality show about the primaries, I’m pretty sure I would have watched it.

And,

This picture, gets me all riled up (I was all-over wanting to “share” this on Facebook):

I certainly don’t take this sort of active stake when Justin Trudeau says he’s gonna run for the liberal party, or when Harper goes to China and poses with a panda bear.

Do Americans know that Canadians are like this? And how many American high school students for instance, could even name the Canadian Prime Minister? (Prime Minister, not President).

Can you hardly blame me? We turn on the TV, twitter, Canadian newspapers, Facebook profiles of friends – it’s all you hear about here in Canada. I feel invested. I feel like I should have a vote, because I’m that convinced that what happens in the US will affect my life here as a Canadian.

I think American politics has become another element of pop culture Canadians have imported across the border.

Hi. I’m Emily. I’m a Canadian with a bit of an American Politics complex. I believe that admitting to a problem is the first step in fixing it.

6 thoughts on “I’m a Canadian Caught Up in the US Election

  1. Pingback: Meet the Canada Party | Sparrow in the Tree Top

Will bake for comments!

