How the Mighty Have Fallen

Remember these bad boys?

I grew them from tiny babies.

Sunflower Patch Week 2

So it’s understandable I feel attached to them right?

I think it’s understandable. They’ve kept me company all summer. They poke their heads in my kitchen window. They say hello every morning. And when I go to bed at night, I don’t have to close the curtains because they have created a thick privacy wall between our back-yard windows and the rest of my nosy suburban back-yard neighbours.

Suffice to say, they are my pride and joy.

Sob.

Were my pride and joy.

This weekend there was a wind storm, and how the once mighty did fall. The wind actually UPROOTED the plants and the bases had a root systems like a tree. Where they were ripped from the ground there is now a gaping hole in the garden.

It was actually painful chopping the pieces up and putting them into yard-waste bags. I felt like Dexter. (Except with a bit more compassion and less a psychotic justification.)

The tallest one measured 10ft exactly from tip to toe.

Rest in peace my yellow army.

2 thoughts on “How the Mighty Have Fallen

  1. According to the Victorians and their symbolic meaning for flowers, the sunflower stood for “pure and lofty thoughts”. How appropriate that yours grew to 10 ft just when you are starting back to school!! Best of luck!

Will bake for comments!

