First Day of School, Birthday And Strep Throat

Today was my first day of “First Day of School” in three years.

I’m holding a map of the campus

Compounding this was the fact that I have strep throat.

This was less gross then pictures of the real thing.

It was a bit of a challenge to say the least … navigating the halls/campus of a new school, taking notes on TA management systems, and how to apply for research funding, all the while trying not to breath on people…

The funding session was the one that really freaked me out the most: “Oh, and by the way, have you thought of your research topic yet? Because if you haven’t, you should” Oops. How can it be that it’s the first day and I already feel behind the 8-ball?

The “first day business” was becoming a little much for me by noon. I realized this when I forgot my brand new purple Nalgene (that I had so carefully picked out with Mike the day before) in a lecture hall 20 minutes after the fact and it almost made me break down and cry. I also managed to get on the wrong bus, fall UP the stairs, and accidentally draw on my face with pen. Marvelous. I think I hit all the major hallmarks of “new student” within about 3 hours.

I kept searching the crowd of Grad students for familiar faces… faces of friends that I had made the last time I was on a university campus. It’s just such a different environment. It’s a completely new start. And when it’s all said and done.. I’ll be… (gulp) THIRTY. Nothing makes your 20’s fly by like being stuck in the semester system.

Speaking of how time flies, yesterday was my birthday and the best present I think I got was antibiotics.

Another Birthday, A Healthier Time

Well that and Season One of Downton Abby, which consequently is a great comfort to watch while sipping ginger ale when you are sick.

9 thoughts on “First Day of School, Birthday And Strep Throat

  1. Happy first day of school! You’ll be great, once you get back in the swing of things. I’m going through my first non-school fall after 10+ years of grad school and it feels equally odd.

      • I have a master’s in English and just finished up my Ph.D., also in English. The doctorate was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. What are you starting?

      • Oh wow! That’s incredible! I’ve always admired people who can make it through ONE English degree let alone two..(I started in English but switched out when I hit Chaucer!). Congrats on just finishing up!
        I finished an MA in International Development a few years back, but now I’m on to an MA in Journalism! Wish me luck!

      • What an adventure! I’m a tiny bit jealous. I hope you’ll keep us updated on the blog. I’d love to hear about assignments and other fun stuff. 🙂 You don’t need luck. You’re a pro!

  2. Hey, all that I can say is “Bad start,Good finish!” (How’s that for a cliche?) You’ll do just fine, but get rid of your strep throat and hope that you find your brand new Nalgene !

  3. Pingback: Pictures strep | Figifoto

  4. Pingback: Mind Like a Lens | Sparrow in the Tree Top

Will bake for comments!

