You Call Yourself a Blogger?

When can I proudly say “I’m a blogger?”

What has to happen before you can give yourself The Title?

Is it related to hits? (Because if it’s related to hits I’m pretty sure I can’t call myself a blogger – more like a “Poster of  Random Words on the Internets.”) Is it related to a pay check? Or maybe it has to do with the amount of emails/comments you get?

The other day when out with friends, someone mentioned to the group that I had a blog. I always wonder what people outside of the blog-world-bubble think of a comment like that.

For instance if you’re reading this it’s probably because you understand and appreciate what a blog is. But please remember that there is a world outside of WordPress and Blogger… one where people don’t feel the compulsive need to write their lives out in prose (or worse, diary format!) OR take pictures of their food. (GASP. Did you know that some people DON’T take pictures of their food?!?) What a sad, sad world it must be for them! How will they EVER remember a meal they had 2 years ago? It was so delicious.)

So I figure if I can call myself a “Blogger”, then it won’t be too embarrassing to admit to people that “I have a blog”… because, well then it will be like, I’m supposed to be doing it.

Ok so I came up with a little check list for myself. To you know, place myself somewhere on a “spectrum.”

(Ahem.)

You Can Call Yourself A Blogger If:

1. If you have blogged consistently for over 1 year.

2. You have posted more then one thing you wish you hadn’t. (And consequently wake up the next day with a “blog-post-hangover.”)

3. You monitor your word count.

4. You have someone you trust proof read your work… and then get defensive when they give you constructive feedback.

5. You reluctantly proof-read your work based on feedback from someone you trust.

6.  You read other successful blogs and think of the ways you could incorporate those particular elements into your own.

7. You adopt your own style and stick to it.

8. You incorporate photos and headings into the text of your blog.

9. You walk around with a pen and paper so you can always write down your post ideas.

and last but not least,

10. You start to tell people that you have a blog, OR word gets out that you have one. 😉

I figure if you have 60% of the above, you’re good to go ahead and slap that title on your twitter bio. (Because if you’re a “Blogger” you probably should have a twitter account.)

9 thoughts on “You Call Yourself a Blogger?

  1. Good stuff as always. It does amaze me to think there are people out there who don’t write their thoughts out in an easy to read format, but you can’t seriously expect me to believe there are people who don’t take photos of their food… I particularly like to do it in bars and restaurants as it makes it easier to recall what a dish was like last time, and therefore make it easier to pick my food on that day. Some people are just missing out. Shocking. Oh, and your checklist means I’m a blogger too! YAY!

    • Dear Blogger,
      I should have got badges or something to hand out! dang. Totally dropped the ball!
      And I know, right? It’s not living if you don’t have a food photo file : )
      Thanks for the lovely compliment Carl!
      Happy Blogging!

  2. I’m enjoying the blogging life, and it’s true there is a greater appreciation of the craft within this WordPress community! But it’s hard to find a balance between writing posts, responding to others, and…life. As for Twitter, I realize it can be an important addition to the blogger’s world and sphere of communication, but I’m not enjoying the Twitter world very much! Just wrote about it:
    http://mindfulstew.wordpress.com/2012/08/23/notes-from-a-twitter-newbie/

    • Yes twitter makes you feel even more of a needle in a haystack then WordPress does. Sometimes I feel like I’m just yelling at the top of my lungs in the middle of a huge crowd… like you could just say the most ridiculous thing an not a one person would turn their head…
      If you can wrap your head around it though it is a neat way to build a community. I’m def. going to check out your post though!
      Thanks for taking a little of your day to read a little of mine!
      Emily

Will bake for comments!

