Get Off My Back, School

Last weekend I walked into Wal-Mart and was greeted with the overflowing back to school section.

Save money and buy in bulk

Ha. those suckers.” I thought to myself.

And then it dawned on me: I am one of those suckers. I am going back to school. For the first time in four years I can be lumped into this cohort. They will refer to me as a “mature student.”

I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

In April the thought that I would be riding the big yellow bus come September was just too far off to feel like a reality. Quickly Spring slipped into summer, and summer, without realizing it, has suddenly become my nemesis as it carries me closer and closer to September fourth. I hate those dusky August nights. I can just FEEL the Fall coming.

August should be that lazy month. It should be the month of sloth like movements to and from work and maybe even a Stay-cation in my back yard.

I’ll tell you what it should NOT be: BACK TO SCHOOL SHOPPING.

I don’t even have any frickin’ kids.

So here I am standing in the bright lights and cool air conditioning of Walmart, staring at the bins of No.2 pencils and cheap ball point pens, and all I want to do is running screaming in the other direction into the hot blanket of August air outside.

But I can’t. Because I need some groceries.

And also, having a nervous breakdown at this moment in time would make me one of those “people of Wal-Mart.”

yes. excellent.

I’m scared for the obvious reasons. I made the decision to leave the comfort and security of a job with a pension and benefits. (Why did I do that again?) This was my choice.

I’ve been trying to remind myself that it’s just as scary to stay where you are, when you know deep down there’s a reason you started off to make a change in the first place. I wouldn’t have applied to go back last January if something hadn’t tapped on my shoulder telling me to do so. I hate it when my conscience is right.

Look at me.. groaning into the open void of the internet blog-sphere like a common student. (Ugh. I’m already half-way there and I didn’t even know it.)

OK fine. Maybe I fit the mold, BUT…. you will NOT catch me dead with a back-pack. I’m going to have to find some sort of satchel that I can conceal my student lifestyle in.

Stay tuned for first day Back To School photos. I’ll probably be wearing a new outfit.

Will bake for comments!

