Front Hallways

I’ve been really interested in front hallways lately. It’s literally the threshold into your life. It’s the place where you hold the door half open (so your pesky, always-trying-to-flee-the-coup-cat, can’t escape) while you tell the door-to-door canvasser that you aren’t interested.

Can I Come In?

To be honest I’m afraid, (just a teensy weensy bit) that I’m turning into my mother. I’ll explain. I have my mom’s best qualities: red hair, disposition, energy… but it seems as if I’ve also been handed down the inability to take on a paint project. In 2003 my parents moved into a new home… I’m pretty sure she had finally decided on a paint colour for the front hallway about 7 years later. Their front door? It happened a good 2 years after that. Let’s just say there was a bit of indecision. She psyched us out so many times with paint chip colours (“This! Now this colour is THE ONE.”) that it became a running joke amongst the family. We would say “Show us the can of paint.

Off White: No. 3


Ok but this isn’t entirely fair… to either of us (she just couldn’t find a colour that was up to her standards and I can completely sympathize with that. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree). In my case, well,  I repainted a good 2/3 of the house we moved into in May when my “carpel tunnel” flared up and I had to give it a rest. Now I’m just using it as an excuse.

It’s a wonder I didn’t start with the front hall… especially since it’s the first thing you see when you walk in to a house. Nah… I started with the farthest thing from it: the back left hand corner of the basement.

At any rate,  I’ve been looking at this picture since April.  I feel so very in love with the Afghan rug and the yellow light.

From Farrow and Ball

It doesn’t stop there. Time just means you find more options to mull over. Again with the woven rug and the natural light.

Dark and Light Contrast

And then there’s the issue of the front hall table. The keeper of all things with no other home in the house. I’d like a nice big surface so that I can completely empty out my pockets.

Boots and ball

I’ve also been toying with the idea of the external hall coat hooks. Closets and hangers just actually ruin my day. I’m in too much of a hurry to fuss with a hanger.

Who needs a closet?

Now how am I supposed to make a decision?

Hallway Inundation. This isn’t going to be easy folks.

3 thoughts on “Front Hallways

  1. Pingback: Spring storm | Sparrow in the Tree Top

  2. Pingback: Make More Room | Sparrow in the Tree Top

  3. Pingback: Make More Room | Sparrow in the Treetop

Will bake for comments!

