5 Things I Googled This Week

A google search, like someone’s closet, says so much about the individual. For obvious reasons, this is a selective list. I don’t really want you to know that much. And no, you can’t see inside my closet either.

1. How long does cooked rice stay fresh in the refrigerator?

Answer from wiki answers.com: “About 3-4 days. I never have any problem with storing cooked rice in the fridge, but make sure its cooled and place in an airtight container. It never goes dry, hard or loses its flavor and I’ve been doing this for over 20yrs.

If you are wondering if I was looking into this because I was about to eat some suspect rice, you would be right.

However I will not tell you in the end if it was eaten.  Nor will I reveal to you how old said rice I was considering eating, was.

Bottom line? I’m pretty sure if you have to google, “can I eat it?” you shouldn’t.

2. How long should a siesta be?

I stumbled upon a bees-nest of information on this subject. Did you know there is a National Siesta Day (in England)? Also did you know that in 2010 they had to stop having national siesta day in England because the siesta was associated with Type 2 Diabetes?

Also did you know that the following famous people napped?

  • Bill Clinton napped while President of the United States to help him cope with the pressures of office.
  • Brahms napped at the piano while he composed his famous lullaby.
  • Napoleon napped between battles while sitting on his horse.
  • Churchill maintained that he had to nap in order to cope with his wartime responsibilities.
  • Geniuses such as Edison and da Vinci napped.

In the end it looks like the appropriate amount of time to nap is about 20 minutes, before deep Rapid Eye Movement (REM) cycles kick into motion.

3. What is a Derecho?

Answer: A derecho (/dəˈreɪtʃoʊ/; Spanish pronunciation: [deˈɾetʃo]; day-RAY-cho) is a widespread, long-lived, straight-line windstorm that is associated with a fast-moving band of severe thunderstorms.

4. Dyson fans

I was walking through the mall on one of the hottest days of the year thus far, and I had to stop myself from laughing out loud at these things:

It Just Works

You know Dyson? The vacuum ball that “just works”? Well apparently it worked so well that they are now evidently in the fan business. The fans look like some sort of weird creation from a Jim Henson movie, but you should feel the air come out of them! It’s actually quite a refreshing breeze. Oddly enough, despite the huge hole and lack of air blades, “they just work.”!

5. Happy Hour in the Byward Market

Isn’t this self-explanatory? Doesn’t every reasonable self-respecting girl Google this at LEAST once a week?

Turns out there is a FABULOUS new happy hour in the Byward Market. (New to me anyway). SideDoor Restaurant at 18 York Street boasts one of Canada’s Food Network Top Chefs. As such, it has amazing appetizers which are far too small and overpriced during your average hour, but during happy hour? It’s so worth it. If you are in Ottawa perusing around and need a little tuck of something from 4:30-6:30, mon-fri definitely try it out. And get the tacos. Mmm.

5 thoughts on “5 Things I Googled This Week

      • I probably have more than one in me 😉
        I have given up trying to find my style, but I have started blogging again… with all the rain in Stockholm, visiting cafés is the summer activity “par execellence”!

Will bake for comments!

