Happy NowRuz

Happy NowRuz!

… I would like to know what sort of significance the goldfish in the fish bowl brings to the table.

Spring has SPRUNG. (side note: while we are on that topic, it has been confirmed: only spring can be “sprung” – you can’t *sprung* anything else. You might have sprung out of bed yesterday but my cat can’t be sprung, the chair has springs but it stays pretty stationary… you get the idea.)

In fact Spring has more then sprung: the past three days have been recording breaking heat for this time of year – and not just record breaking… record SMASHing. Yesterday it was a “feels” like temperature of 29 degrees in Ottawa. The last time we had record breaking warmth was sometime in the 1960’s, when the mercury reached a comparatively “mild” 16 degrees Celsius.

Did you know that the Persian New Year (Nowruz) coincides with the Gregorian calendar’s first day of spring? Yep, it does: at 1 am on March 20 to be precise.  I had a drink with my lovely friend hier soir and she explained it all to me in very vague detail. And then Wikipedia informed me that depending on what part of the world you are in, and the day on which spring equinox actually takes place (could be the 20 or the 21 or March), Nowruz could also happen on the 21 at 1 am. So technically I’m about 24 hours late… or 48 depending on where you are reading this right now.

So this makes heaps of sense. In fact as I recall, it was the topic of my first post ever, (which was also not-so-coincidentally one year ago)… I just never knew that there was actually any validity or echoing in history to what I was saying. Though in retrospect I should have clued in sooner…a) These are the little ranting reflections of life that I am actually good at pointing out (just sad that it literally took me one full year to put the research in behind my initial hunch); and b) pagan rituals and beliefs laid the way for so many of the religious holidays we celebrate today, so it stands to reason that there exist in some realm a cultural new year celebration on the first day of spring.

And it’s not a stretch at all to put NY’s on top of the first day of spring: spring is about rebirth, new beginnings, and changes. As we have botched the system, we now start all of those things in the middle of the dark season on January 1, when you have to coerce yourself into making resolutions and even to leave the house.

Let me tell you, it’s a whole heck of a lot easier to do it on a day when you feel like shedding your jacket, and admiring the little bits of growth all around you. We should make a stronger habit of mimicking nature. Poke our heads out from hibernation when the Sun tells us it’s time to.

4 thoughts on “Happy NowRuz

    • Thank-you & right back at ya! Although here this week it feels more like summer with the weather we have had.
      I figure the beginning of spring is a good chance to pick up on the resolutions that I didn’t keep beyond the end of January!!

  1. And the forsythia is in bloom .I don’t know. Go figure!! Dio you think there is such a thing as global warming?? Bush said there wasn’t !!! Anyway Happy first day of spring!!

    • To you too!!! I would have a hard time arguing that Bush was right considering my thesis work!!
      I would like to see pictures of the forsythia tree … unless you think it will still be in bloom on Easter when I’m home for a visit!

Will bake for comments!

