Apple, Shallot and Butternut Squash Soup

Soup weather has more than arrived here in Ottawa. I’m dressing like an onion every day now – so many layers! Long johns are a must. Don’t argue with me. Just put them on. I don’t care if you are in California… misery loves company.

Below is a recipe of deliciousness. I’m warning you, this soup is so good it might make you swear when you eat it…  It’s a good warmer upper and makes you feel all warm and fuzzy, despite the cuss words. I’ll just say it right from the get-go; the secret ingredient is the wine – it helps the flavours mingle like the guests at the most successful dinner party you ever threw. So take off one of your layers and be warm my friends!

Apple, Shallot and Butternut Squash Soup:

….. So Good it Might Make You Swear

Ingredients

2 Butternut Squash, cut in half and roasted

3 French Shallots, chopped

3 Cloves of Garlic, minced

1-2 tbsp Olive oil for the pan

3 Granny Smith Apples, peeled and chopped

1 Carton of Chicken of Vegetable Broth

¼ Cup White Wine

Fresh Thyme and Crème Fresh to Garnish

The Method

  1. Cook halved squash face down on a cooking sheet with parchment paper @350 degrees for 35-45 minutes. You will know it’s done when you can pierce it easily with a fork. When done, let cool for about 10 minutes so you don’t burn yourself while scooping out the goodness.
  2. In a large soup pot cook shallots and garlic (with 1 tbsp of butter/olive oil) over medium heat until onions are translucent and soft.
  3. Add white wine and allow it to burn off while stirring the shallots around.
  4. Add half the carton of broth to the pot and bring to a simmer.
  5. Add the chopped apples and continue to simmer for 3-5 minutes.
  6. Add the scooped out squash to the pot with the remainder of the broth and stir to combine. Bring to a simmer again and continue to cook for 15-20 minutes.
  7. Take the mixture off the burner and carefully pulse with a hand blender. If it makes you nervous to pulse while it’s warm, allow the mixture to cool down first then pulse with the hand blender or transfer in batches to a standing blender (don’t forget to reheat over a burner before serving!).
  8. Serve warm with a spoonful of crème fresh & some thyme…. And of course some delicious bread to dip!!

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Apple, Shallot and Butternut Squash Soup

    • It was totally delicious… not to toot my own horn or anything. There aren’t many preservatives in it so I don’t think it would work to send you some by courier….
      Are you learning Swedish my friend?! So quickly you are picking it up! I’m impressed!

      • I guess I will have to make my own then…. Thanks for sharing “the method” 😉 I’ll let you know how it goes!
        I’m trying to learn Swedish but it’s not easy considering that everybody here speaks English better than I do…. Too easy to be lazy and stick to English. Anyway, starting a new class on Monday. I’m very excited about it!
        Hope all is well and that the weather is a bit better for running.

      • Oh man! I don’t know if I could learn it.. just looks so different from anything French or English. Would def. be fun to try though : )
        The weather is a lot better then it was earlier this week… it’s only about -9 now : D What’s it like there? All this winter running means I might have to get those grip thingys for my shoes… then I might as well just come and do that crazy race with you in 2013!!!

      • Oh! That is so exciting! I went for a short run (8k) today but if you are in for the polar night marathon next year that would be a huge incentive to keep running 😉
        I never used spikes in Ottawa but I’m thinking of getting some here as there is more ice than snow on the paths.
        P.S. Swedish shouldn’t be too difficult. The grammar seems fairly easy (compared to Serbian for example) but it is the pronunciation that is killing me;-)

Will bake for comments!

